The Independent Brewers Association (IBA) is calling for entries in its revamped awards competition.

The Indies awards, formerly known as the Craft Beer Awards, has extended an invitation to international independent brewing companies for the first time.

The competition trophy categories have also been restructured.

The Indies, open only to independent brewing companies, are designed to "elevate the appreciation of beer and the independent brewing culture", according to organisers.

International brewing companies are eligible to enter The Indies if the beer submitted has Australian distribution, and the brewing company can meet the IBA membership criteria, which defines an independent brewing company as producing less than 40 million litres per annum and is less than 20 per cent owned by a large brewing company.

In 2018, the Champion Trophy categories are:

  • Pale Ale
  • Amber/Dark Ale
  • Porter/Stout
  • Hybrid Beer
  • Lager
  • India Pale Ale
  • European-style Ale
  • Session Beer
  • Strong Beer
  • Mixed Culture Beer


  • 3 x Champion Australian Independent Brewery (small, medium, large)
  • Champion International Independent Beer
  • Champion Australian Independent Beer

Entries to the Indies close on 11 May, and the Indies Awards ceremony will be held on 28 June in Sydney.