• The Davidson Plum is the champion of Brookfarm's new Wild Berry Granola.
    The Davidson Plum is the champion of Brookfarm's new Wild Berry Granola.

Brookfarm says it has launched the first ever breakfast cereal featuring Australian rainforest superfood the Davidson Plum.

Brookfarm co-founder Pam Brook says Wild Berry Granola, which was unveiled at Fine Food Australia in Melbourne last week, was devised in the Brook family kitchen, where she has been blending and baking mueslis and granolas for almost 20 years.

Brookfarm's food products traditionally hero the native Australian macadamia nut, but in this granola blend, the Davidson Plum is the champion.

The Davidson Plum is indigenous to the Byron hinterland and Northern Rivers growing regions, according to Brookfarm. It is also an anti-oxidant powerhouse with over 100 times the vitamin C of an orange, an excellent source of potassium, vitamin E, folate, calcium and magnesium, according to the company.

“The Davidson Plum provides such a unique and delightful flavour and we are just so proud to bring it to the world,” Pam Brook says.

“We are working passionately to introduce native foods to the Australia grocery industry, which will help underwrite the growth of this industry and introduce more people to the health benefits in our own native bush tucker.

“A focus on community, real food our environment are the intrinsic core values to our brand.”

Wild Berry Granola is being sold nationally at independent supermarkets and grocers, and in China through Brookfarm’s distribution network.

Packaging News

Labelhouse has cleaned up at the Victorian Printing Industry Creativity Awards (PICAs), collecting two gold and two bronze medals at the event, which also saw Pandoras Boxes collect two golds, and CCL take one.

The upcoming Print21 + PKN LIVE New Frontiers In Packaging Print event will deliver five major benefits to packagers attending the day, according to the organisers.

Christina Condos from label converter Labelhouse has been named as one of two Victorian finalists for the Media Super Young Executive of the Year Award.